Last Name A-Z
Unknown – Cow Award
Reichel Hans
van Nuenen Jan
Pulkkinen Ansi
Longo Robert
Mizrahi Yehudit
van der Hijden Timon
von Essen Derek
Wanders Marcel – Zeppelin, 2012
Wahl Katharina – Landhausadapter, 2009
Veerman Daan – Masks, 2015
Trum Thomas – Monochromestudies , 2016
Thorsson Helgi – Untitled
Schippers Wim. T. – Pindakaasvloer , 1962
Ravage – The Men of Ravage
Reutinger Anna – Weak Sleek Bodies, 2016
Hsiung YunPei
Mizin Slava
Kok Marije
Hashemi-Nezhad Bahbak
Séraphin Zounyekpe Coffi
Hottenrott Nadine
Holsmuller Daan
Owens Marc – Second Life Projects, 2008
Pagola Lola – Combat Clog
Noten Ted – Miss Piggy Ring Prototype, 2010
de Nennie Bastiaan – Uproot Rotterdam, 2016
van Mourik Elise – A letter to Professionals , 2015
Mandersloot Frank – Bar, 1987
Mastenbroek Jelle – Splendour Lender, 2013
Linssen Thomas – Evolution Bathtub, 2011
Kawakubo Rei – Dress Comme des Garçons, 1997
Lanternier Daphnee – Bic Pop Up Store, 2013
Lernert & Sander – Color Correcting, 2009
Kienholz Edward – Nativity, 1961
Klavers Niels – Jacket With Six Sleeves And Trousers, spring/summer 1998
Körmeling John – Bridge Den Ophef, 2013
Job Studio – Tit Lamp, 2010
Jones Kieren – Community Commerce, 2010
Jakobs Anneke – Pixels to Dots, 2013
Hosea Hanura – A Man
Halmans Frank – Debris
Gilissen Filip – The no Problem Show
Fransen Maaike – SS2015, 2015
Ganszyniec Maja – Pillows for working late
van Eijk & van der Lubbe – Godogan Bench
Engelbrecht Martijn – Niet Storen, 2005
Essombe Desawa – Passion, 2007
Feigl Zoro – Summer Breeze, 2014
van Doorn Willem – Dwaas Kanon, 2015
Driessens & Verstappen – Diemerzeedijk, 2007
Dick Helmut – Koffiezetapparaat
Cubic 3 Design – Nachtschade, 1987
Daniëls René – Ondergrounds verbonden, 1984
Delvoye Wim – Concrete Mixer, 1993
Dessirier Julia – Festival Irrueption, 2015
Cornevin Jerome (Jero) – Absence of Language, 2015
de Bruijne Leon – Quick Sand, 2015
Brajkovic Sebastian – Lathe Table 1400, 2014
Boezem Marinus – De Groene Kathedraal, 1978-1996
Bey Jurgen – Kokon Furniture , 1999
Bardic Dario – Time Travel, 2013
Baas Maarten – Real Time, 2009
Bakker Reinder – Het dak dat opgaat in rook, 2010
Antonio Ana Rita – Evolutionary thinking at the camping side, 2015
Alves Azevedo Rodrigo – Shaped: Dialogue Between Motion and Matter, 2015
Adlesic Dan – Socket, 2015

The project ‘Design Diorama: The Archive as a Utopic Environment’, on display at the London Design Biennale from the 7th until the 27th of September 2016 in Somerset House, is a three-dimensional blueprint of the personal salon of the Studio’s founders: Rianne Makkink & Jurgen Bey. This contemporary diorama -originally a picture viewing device through which is seen- is a replica of their archive at home. It consists of a space filled with blue foam copies of objects by former studio employees, freelancers and interns as well as products and artefacts from various other designers, artists and architects. Parallel to the physical and temporary diorama installation during the London Design Biennale, a digital and permanent online index is developed. The Dutch contribution to the biennale is commissioned by Het Nieuwe Instituut.


The archive on this website is a digital index, a cloud of people gathered by Studio Makkink&Bey. Each of which tells its own story and represents the ideals and utopias of makers, thinkers and cultural figures that are related to their practice. This web archive is a junction of places, people and skills. It can be filtered by categories such as Topics, Disciplines and Generations as well as by Utopia Typologies, Topics and Words from Thomas More’s publication ‘Utopia’ from 1516. Click here for press images and press release

Curator & Exhibition Design:
Studio Makkink&Bey (Rianne Makkink, Jurgen Bey, Jules van den Langenberg, Marco van Stratum, Chester Chuang, Anastasiia Gerasimova, Joram Raaijmakers, Nine Marije Ligtenberg, Bauke Bruijns, Fier van den Berge, Daan Veerman)

Commissioner & Administering Body:
Het Nieuwe Instituut

Supporting Bodies:
London Design Biennale, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in London, United Kingdom; Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science

Graphic Design & Web Design:
Valentijn Goethals, Tomas Lootens & Arthur Haegeman

Thijs Wolzak